Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Respect for military Police?

I'm currently a federal police officer working with the department of the navy, I find the lack of respect from the county deputy sheriffs really ignorant. I do have my state and federal standers probably more academy's (schools) then most of them. What's the general consensus about military police?

Comments

• I think they are a little jealous due to the amount of work they do and the pay they receive compared to you.
  • Being ex-Army, I'll give MPs a pass if I can. That includes DoD Police. Most all LE types will get a pass from me. I draw the line at TSA though. Had one try to pass as a 'police' officer when I could tell he worked the screening line. Sorry, no dice.
  • We may wear different color uniforms but we all have blue running in our veins.. This is my opinion. If you carry a gun on duty, you are the same to me.
  • edited 6 Dec 2012
    This is and issues many Civilian LEO's could really keep it simple. Every cop has a jurisdiction and beyond that you have no law enforcement authority. The UCMJ military law is enforced by military police. They have an extremely dangerous job patroling the area in foreign countries. Most patrol office doesn’t get and RPG, CAR Bomb or AKA 47 fired at them. I have been both military and civilian police, so I have felt the prejudice from local civilian cops telling me I’m not the police. Consider what you Law Enforcement job would look like if the WW II Combat veterans did not defeat the Axis Powers of Germany, Japan and Italy. I’m not going to change anyone’s mind is made up and frame the Military police and our Combat Veterans as not have a role in servicing and protecting. Let US Never Forget How We Maintain A Free American. Respectfully Major Navarro ,USAF, ret., Former Civilian LEO.
  • Thank you for your service, Major!

Former SSG(P)
    ASA/INSCOM