Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Calm Down

I am a Probation Officer in NC for almost 3 years and I love what I do. But I am very stressed and over whelmed about my job!!! How can I calm down with my job duties and reduce the my anxiety when I am making an arrest?

Comments

• I've been a deputy for 26 years, so hopefully I can be of some help. I have learned that I can only do one thing at a time, the most important thing is your safety and the safety of other law enforcement officers and God. Everything else is the "little stuff". What kind of anxiety do you experience making an arrest?
  • vcallahan

Another words take it easy, do one thing at a time and be safe. It's not really anxiety but an adrenaline rush. How can I get over that rush?

Thx
    PPOII
  • That adrenaline rush is your senses at a heightened level. Everyone who makes an arrest experiances it. Listen to the 'little voices' they will keep you safe. Anxiety is what you feel when going on a raid or warrant service, before you get there. You are going over all the details and playing 'what if' in your mind. No matter what, officer safety comes first. Keep yourself and your fellow LEO's safe. Remember, "not today" and everyone goes home at the end of your watch. Stay safe out there!
  • Another thing, there are some breathing exercises you can do when you feel yourself going there. Talk to your agency Trainer or local training officers and see what they recommend.
  • Yeah we all get the rush in high stress situations. It's normal and like sjb324ret said it will help keep you safe when you listen to it. I was always told that if I wasn't scared going into a hot situation, i was being careless, not using my senses.
  • Like the others said, it will subside some over time, but when you don't get anxious or excited it may be time to find a new job. Apathy kills.
  • Thanks for the great advice everyone.
  • I wish you the very best.