Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com

Taser or OC

edited 15 Nov 2012 in The Off-Duty Forums
Which one do you go for first?

Comments

• Pepper spray, it takes awhile for it to wear off.
  • Pepper spray has it's uses. Problem with it is the collateral damage. As a former Taser Instructor, I found it to be more reliable, and more effective in most cases. Once word got out about our Tasers, often times the mere threat would change someones mind.
  • I use my taser, when necessary, on humans. I use my OC on dogs.
  • Quit carrying OC on my belt some time back. Kept some in the car for dogs and crowd control.
  • OC my current department doesn't authorize tasers (navy command)
  • Im with the Taser now.Was carrying Frezze + P.
  • I carry both, use the taser first. Simply because the reputation of the taser more often than not ends the fight right there. OC has it's uses but I have never been terribly confident in it.
  • I would say both have their purposes depending on how many suspects you are dealing with at one time. My Department just got the Taser X2's. These are much nice since you can fire two shots before re-loading. Much better than the X26's
  • Taser Definately! OC is wicked, but I don't ever want to go through that again!
  • Both have their place, however the taser has a nasty rep of the click click click.. the oc has a longer application period but can be transferred to officers during a take down.. I carry both (department requirements)
  • Thin Blue Line Decals at FireandRescueDecals.com
  • I too am a Taser instructor and like the "lightning" but I love my O.C. spray too. it depends on the situation.